Return of Bark in the Park

editorial image
0
Have your say

Dog owners are encouraged to take their pets along to the return of Parks Trust’s Bark in the Park event.

The ranger led weekday walks will return on March 8 at 6pm, in addition to the regular 10am Saturday morning stroll.

The walks cost £1 per dog and are led by The Parks Trust’s Community Rangers. Dawn Morland, Leading Community Ranger, said: “Bark in the Park is a brilliant way for people and their dogs to explore a new walking route in the city’s parks – they’re not training walks so are best suited to well socialised dogs and those aged over six months.”

The evening walks last one hour, with the Saturday morning walks taking between one and a half to two hours. If it’s your first time please arrive a little early so that you can register.

The dates and locations are Saturday, March 8 – 10am at Furzton Lake, Thursday, March 20 – 6pm at Lodge Lake

Saturday, April 12 – 10am at Walton Lake, Thursday, April 17 – 6pm at Linford Manor Park

Saturday, May 10 – 10am at Shenley Wood, Thursday, May 15 – 6pm at Ouzel Valley Park

Saturday, June 7 – 10am at Loughton Valley Park, Thursday, June 19 – 6pm at Teardrop Lakes

Saturday, July 12 – 10am at Willen Lake North, Thursday, July 17 – 6pm at Howe Park Wood

Saturday, August 9 – 10am at Campbell Park, Thursday, August 21 – 6pm at Linford Wood

Saturday, September 13 – 10am at Tattenhoe Valley, Thursday, September 18 – 6pm at Ouse Valley Park

Saturday, October 11 – 10am at Ouzel Valley Park, Thursday, October 16 – 6pm at Campbell Park

The walks, where possible, will have opportunities for off-lead sessions and there will always be an alternative route for owners who prefer to keep their dogs on a lead throughout.

Dawn said: “It’s really important that the walks are safe and enjoyable for participants and for other park users so we do have to observe a few housekeeping rules. If you have any questions about Bark in the Park please call 01908 233600 before coming to a walk and ask to speak to a Community Ranger – we’d hate to disappoint anyone on the day.”

Organisers ask all dogs to be on a lead and for owners to bring poo bags and clean up after their dogs. Dogs should be microchipped or have a collar and identity tags so that they can be identified. To avoid possible confrontations they can’t allow sticks or toys on the walks and are unable to let bitches in season participate.