It’s a Dr Mann’s world

Phebe Mann
Phebe Mann

A FORMER lecturer at the Open University in Milton Keynes has won a major accolade at the Women of Outstanding Achievement Awards.

Dr Phebe Mann is the first and only woman to hold five professional engineering qualifications concurrently in the UK and won top spot in the Tomorrow’s Leader category in the UK Research Council-organised award, sponsored by Intel.

Dr Mann was a consultant and associate lecturer of the Open University in business courses including the Master of Business Administration (MBA), and engineering design courses.

She was also a senior tutor and examiner of the Master of Science in Computing. She has contributed to some of the pioneering e-business/computing courses which are delivered 100 per cent online.

Dr Mann, now senior lecturer in civil engineering, highway and transportation at the University of East London, was nominated by Professor Stephen Potter, professor of transport strategy of the Open University.

Dr Mann said: “I am humbled and honoured to have been presented with this award. The perception that engineering “is not for girls” has gradually been changed over the years, as we can see more and more women engineers in responsible positions in industry. I hope that we can continue to encourage young people, especially girls to consider civil engineering as a very worthy and rewarding career.”

Lord Willis of Knaresborough , who chaired the judging panel, said: “The range and quality of nominations this year was exceptional, demonstrating the breadth of women’s contribution and impact across all areas of science, engineering and technology. I congratulate Dr Mann as an inspirational role model to many young engineers.”

Danny Arati, education manager for Europe, Intel Corporation, said: “We believe that to foster innovation and drive economic growth, we need to enable everyone and especially women and girls with education and entrepreneurial skills. Intel welcomes the opportunity to present this award for ‘Tomorrow’s Leader’ and looks forward to celebrating the success of these women.”

The award ceremony was held on Thursday, May 5.