Geary takes over as council leader

editorial image

Councillor Andrew Geary has been formally appointed as leader of Milton Keynes Council.

The head of the Conservative party will now hold the position until 2015 after the Labour and Lib Dems decided not to put forward any nominations for the position.

Councillor Geary will form the head of a Conservative cabinet which will include Councillors Andy Dransfield, David Hopkins, who was appointed deputy leader of the council, Andrew Morris, John Bint, Peter Geary and last year’s Mayor of Milton Keynes, Debbie Brock.

He said: “The best way that we can move forward as a council is to have strong opposition sitting across the chamber. I would like to thank Sam Crooks and Cec Tallack for providing such an open network for communication and I want them to know that we plan to act in the same manner.”

For full story see tomorrow’s edition of the Milton Keynes Citizen.