Milton Keynes Hospital celebrates its dedicated staff at glittering awards ceremony

Winners of Milton Keynes Hospital staff awards
Winners of Milton Keynes Hospital staff awards

Milton Keynes Hospital celebrated the achievements and commitment of staff at its first-ever glittering awards ceremony.

More than 100 people attended the event last which recognised inspirational individuals and talented teams regularly going over and above to give patients the best possible care.

Staff, patients and visitors were encouraged to nominate in 10 categories.

Chief executive Joe Harrison said: “It was wonderful to personally reward our hard-working staff for their outstanding efforts. We presented awards to some very special people.

“The winners were selected from an incredibly high standard of entries and we’d like to thank everyone for voting – it’s great to see our staff appreciated by both colleagues and patients.”

The awards attracted over 160 nominations with winners as follows:

> Improving Patient Safety

Winner: James McHugh, non-invasive ventilation lead

> Improving Patient Experience

Winner: Tracey Rea, bereavement midwife

> Improving Clinical Effectiveness

Winner: Tracy Davis, senior sister

> Student of the Year

Winner: Shaan Meeda, midwifery

> Leader of the Year

Winner: Claire Fordham, physiotherapy lead

> Patients’ Award

Winner: Hand therapy team

> Community Ambassador

Winner: Jimmy Cooney, healthcare assistant

> Team of the Year

Winner: Neonatal unit

> Unsung Hero

Winner: MK Arts for Health gardening team Barbara Murray, Andrew White and Matthew Stemp

> CEO’s Award

Deputy support services manager Marc Yerrell.

The event was sponsored by healthcare recruiter ID Medical. Managing director, Deenu Patel, said: “We were honoured to sponsor this celebration to recognise phenomenal individuals and groups of people who go above and beyond for patients and colleagues.

“We’d like to thank the hospital for inviting us to be a part of such a special event and welcoming us onto the judging panel. Congratulations to everyone nominated.”

Chief executive Joe Harrison and hospital chairman Baroness Wall compered the event at the Kent’s Hill Hilton hotel on Wednesday. The Mayor of Milton Keynes, Councillor Derek Eastman, was guest of honour.