MK’s sports achievers honoured at annual awards

editorial image

THE Sport Milton Keynes Sports Achiever of the Year awards ceremony was held at Shenley Leisure Centre on Tuesday night, with Olympic champion Greg Rutherford the special guest.

He may have been overlooked for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award shortlist, but the London 2012 long-jump gold medallist left with the MK Sports Personality of the Year prize before heading off to Bedford to pick up the BBC Sports Personality award for the East of England.

In front of a couple of hundred local sports volunteers, their families and local dignitaries, Rutherford was also able to see a model of the proposed piece of public art planned to honour his success on the Fen Street Roundabout on the A421 near Junction 13 of the M1.

The evening saw two heartwarming musical performances from youngsters of Two Mile Ash School and countless inspirational stories from some of the city’s leading sportsmen, women and clubs, including Team GB handball captain Bobby White, Paralympic fencer Gabby Down and footballer Alistair Patrick-Heselton.

A total of 15 other awards were handed out on the night, with Oliver Lines from City of MK Swimming Club winning the Boys U18 award, supported by David Hildreth, while the Girls U18 award, supported by Linda Plowright of Young Leaders, went to BMX racing star Izzy Ferrada.

The Men’s O18 award, supported by Tony Billson from the Hockey Foundation Trust, was presented to Richard Parrott of MK Canoe Club and Lara Bromilow from MK Athletics Club took the Women’s O18 award, supported by Jim Mann.

The Disabled Men’s award, supported by John Cove of MK Dons Sport and Education Trust, went to wheelchair basketball player Simon Munn, while the Disabled Women’s award, supported by Robert Benbow of the Newport Pagnell and Olney Lions Club, was presented to wheelchair fencer Gabby Down.

Jack Kee of MK Athletics Club was presented with the Men’s O50 award, supported by John Chapman from Bletchey Park Post Office and the Women’s O50 award, supported by Jim Mann, went to Lyn Coppins from Stony Stratford Football Club.

The Primary School award was presented to Two Mile Ash, while the Secondary School prize went to Stantonbury Campus.

Colin Kightley of Wolverton Town Cricket Club received the Coach of the Year award, supported by Mark Ormerod from the Bucks and Milton Keynes Sports Partnership.

The Team of the Year award, supported by Tony Billson, went to the Two Mile Ash School basketball team and the Club of the Year prize, supported by Jim Mann, went to MK Springers Gymnastics Club.

The Service to Sport award, supported by Dr Philip Smith, was presented to Heather and Rodger Coupar from Loughton Lodgers Junior Badminton Club and the Volunteer of the Year award, supported by Ronnie Clark from Holiday Inn, went to Eula Sartain of Stony Stratford FC.

>> Greg Rutherford is pictured receiving his award from Ann Dodds of John Lewis and Rick Townsend. And also with the model of the proposed piece of public art planned to celebrate his gold medal success.