UKIP votes soar in European elections

Polling Station
Polling Station

UKIP took 32.14 per cent of the vote in the south east of England in the European Parliament elections last Thursday.

Of the nine seats available, UKIP leader Nigel Farage will be joined by Janice Atkinson, Ray Finch and Diane James as the party took four of the 10 seats.

Conservatives Richard Ashworth, Nirj Deva and Dan Hannan will join them, along with Labour’s Anneliese Dodds, Lib Dem Catherine Bearder and Green Party candidate Keith Taylor.

And Taylor, who retained his seat, said he was proud to be re-elected.

”I am honour to have been re-elected as an MEP for South East England,” he said. “At this election Greens offered voters hope, whilst others peddled fear and division.

“As an MEP for South East England I will stand up for my constituents, wherever they come from and however they choose to live their lives. It’s my honour to be back in Brussels working to make the EU more democratic and less dominated by big business.”

Turn-out for the election was 35.4 percent. In the south east, UKIP’s 32.14 per cent was a 13.29 per cent increase which equated into one seat, while the Conservatives’ 30.95 per cent saw them lose a seat. Labour took 14.66 per cent of the vote, with the Green Party picking up 9.05 per cent, and the Lib Dems 8.04 per cent.