Spotlight shines on outstanding students

OUTSTANDING students had their moment in the spotlight at Milton Keynes College’s Student of the Year award ceremony last Thursday.

The glitzy event, sponsored by Blum, saw students, staff and VIP guests gather at the college’s Bletchley Campus, to celebrate the most exceptional learners of 2011.

Dr Jilie Mills, MK College’s principal and chief executive said: “This is the highlight of the College’s year.

“We are proud of all our students, but this recognises our most outstanding students – and we hope some of their brilliance rubs off on us.!”

Student of the Year 2011, sponsored by Dell, was Deborah Taylor, from Wolverton. Deborah combined studying full time for her Level 2 diploma in Hairdressing with caring for a disabled son and his younger brother, yet still found time to represent the college in two nationally-recognised hairdressing competitions.

“My eldest boy has cystic fibrosis so becoming a mature student was a big decision for me,” said Deborah, aged 37, who also won the Beauty Express Award for Hairdressing, Beauty & Holistic Therapy students. “But coming to the College has had such an impact on my life. My tutors have helped me achieve so much. It couldn’t have gone any better.”

Another double winner was sports science student Paul Blackwell, who joined the College after moving to Milton Keynes from Brazil.

Top grades and a call-up for the England College’s National Football Squad scored him the MK Dons Sport & Education Trust Award for Sports Science & Public Services students, and the Milton Keynes Citizen Newspaper’s Outstanding Achievement In Sport Award.

It was also a successful night for the College’s Performing Arts department, with staff picking up two student-nominated titles: Curriculum Administrator Joan Toone received the Students’ Choice Award, and dance teacher Karina Streeton was named Teacher of the Year.

Vice-principal Rob Jonessaid: “It was an amazing event and one we couldn’t have staged without the generosity of our sponsors.

“In particular, the unwavering support of our main event sponsor, Blum, ensures that we can make this the most memorable night for our students and staff.”

Other winners included:

Andrew Peck Award (Hotel, Catering & Hospitality) – Michael Waldron

ASHE Construction Award (Construction) – Colby Gawman

Aspers Award (Teacher Training) – Josie Bounds

Blum Award (Community Learning) – Andrew Wilmin

Edexcel Award (Computing & Information Technology) –Dexter Griffiths

Milton Keynes Business Leaders Award (Business Studies) –Asim Khan

Milton Keynes Community Foundation Award (Foundation Learning) – Stephen Legg

Milton Keynes Council Award (Art, Design, Media & Performing Arts) – Abdillah Uwimana

Milton Keynes Language Centre Award (ESOL) - Natalja Labanova

Milton Keynes NHS Primary Care Trust Award (Community Studies Award) – Emma McDowell

NHBC Award (Motor Vehicle & Motor Sport) – Edgaras Dumcius

Niftylift Award (Engineering) – George Matthews

Savills Award (Professional Studies)– Katrina Clay

thecentre:mk Award (MK6) – Aaron Hayfield

Tribal Learning & Publishing Award (Offender Learning) – Simon Cowley