Three Milton Keynes liberal democrat councillors announce retirement

Long-standing senior Councillors Isobel McCall, Chris Williams and Derek Eastman are all standing down as Liberal Democrat Councillors.

Monday, 26th March 2018, 12:06 pm
Updated Monday, 26th March 2018, 12:10 pm
Retiring: Councillor Isobel McCall

Between them they have served the residents of Milton Keynes for 51 years and all held senior positions within Milton Keynes Council.

Isobel McCall, a Councillor for 22 years, was the longest serving Leader of the Council and the only woman in the Council’s history to hold the post. She has also chaired a number of committees. Cllr Williams was previously a member of the Cabinet, is a faithful advocate for housing, and currently chairs the Housing and Community Committee, whilst Derek Eastman was a hard-working mayor of Milton Keynes and has chaired a number of committees, mostly recently the Development Control Committee.

Group leader councillor Douglas McCall said: “I would like to thank all three for their major contribution to the Council and Milton Keynes.

"We wish them all well in their coming ventures and recognise the loss to the residents who have relied on their hard work in their wards.

"They leave a lasting legacy," he added.

Also by the Milton Keynes Citizen newspaper: