VIDEO: Roll call for MK Student of the Year awards

The highlight of the Milton Keynes College calendar was celebrated on Thursday with the 2016 Student of the Year awards.

Thursday, 2nd June 2016, 4:13 pm
Updated Thursday, 2nd June 2016, 5:17 pm
MK College Student of the Year awards

The glittering ceremony, held at the college’s Bletchley 
campus, focused on the 
accomplishments of students and staff with a total of 29 awards presented.

Category sponsors 
presented the awards with the Citizen sponsored A level Award going to Eden Sadler 
who was recognised for 
consistentlty demonstrating the ‘behaviour and attitude expected from an outstanding student.’

She said: “I am grateful to my teachers and tutors for nominating me.”

MK College Student of the Year awards

Editor Olga Norford said: “The Citizen is proud to once again sponsor an award and to celebrate the success stories of so many talented students.”

The overall Student of the Year award for 2016 went to Isobel Jones, who was also awarded the Sport and Public Services Award.

Isobel has competed at 
international tournaments and training camps in 
Barcelona, Geneva and the 
Canary Islands as part of the national swim team and was in contention for a place at the Rio Olympics.

She said: “I was really 
surprised about just being nominated for Student of the Year as I have never been 
recognised for my hard work before coming to college.”

MK College Student of the Year awards

College principal and chief executive Dr Julie Mills said: “Students of the Year is the perfect way to celebrate the achievements of our students and to be inspired by them.

“Our winners represent a student body of more than 30,000 learners from Milton Keynes and further afield.

“This has been a truly wonderful year and our students are achieving unprecedented success in a wider range of subjects and disciplines than ever before.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

> Esol & Alternative Provision Award: Manizeh Yousefi

> Enterprise Award: Russell Gray

> Community & Employment Programmes Award: Jason Parish

> A Level Award: Eden Sadler

> Higher Education Award: Emma Clarke

> Professional Qualification Award: Simon Etherington

> Apprentice of the Year Award: Tom Merchant

> Creative, Performance and Music Award: Sophie Way

> Principal’s Ambassador Award: Jacob Provan, Emily Berry & Alex Robinson

> Care Professions Award: Hiral Patel

> Digital Technologies Award: Jeff Conrad

> Motor Vehicle Award: Darrel Holland

> Catering and Hospitality Award: Crystall Fleming

> Adams Engineering Prize: Karl O’Brien

> Sport and Public Services Award: Isobel Jones

> Built Environment Award: Vasily Gerrans

> Academic Studies and Applied Science Award: Mandy Lunt

> MK College Students’ Choice Awards: Wayne James, Cathy Rutledge and Mark Lee

> Childcare Award: Sophie Harding

> Olass Student of the Year Award: Richard Bates

> English and Maths Award: Kathleen Heavey

> Hair & Beauty Award: Alex Wagstaff

> Andrew Peck Award: Scott Ager

> Inclusive Learning Award: Katharyn Bull

> Under 16s Award: Ana Alexandre

> Progress Award: Casey Aldridge

> Engineering Award: Marcin Trojak

> Business, Retail and Logistics Award: Kalin Storch

> Overall MK College Student of the Year Award: Isobel Jones

> Special Award: Anouar Kassim, MK Islamic Arts, Heritage & Culture