Athletics round-up: Wolverton 5 and School Cross Country

editorial image

IT WAS a windy but relatively mild day at Willen Lake for the 47th Wolverton 5 (mile) Road Race organised by Marshall Milton Keynes Athletic Club.

It was a case of what might have been for the home team with Michal Glowacki finishing 4th in 26m 04s, but he has not yet completed the process of joining the city club and so did not count in the team competition, resulting in 2nd place behind Vale of Aylesbury by less than two minutes.

The women had no such problem, taking the title by over three minutes from nearest rivals Bedford Harriers, and there were category wins for Richard Ashton (M45), Elle Roche (F20), Leah Williams (F35) and Jim McKellar (M75), with 2nd places for Kelvin Smith (M60), David Newens (M65), Ursula Ghaleb (F55) and Milford Callow (M75) and a 3rd for Kevin Connolly (M60).

In what proved to be a close race it was Southampton AC’s Steven Phillips who just about held off Coventry Godiva Matthew Armstrong by 7 seconds to win in 25m 12s, with 3rd going to Fabian Downs of Chiltern Harriers AC finishing in 25m 50s out of the 226 competitors who successfully crossed the line.

In the women’s race the winner Amy Whitehead of Sale Manchester AC was the clear winner coming home in an excellent 15th position, taking 27m 37s to finish 30 places and over three minutes clear of 2nd Lucy Waterlow (St Albans Striders) 30m 59s and 3rd Fiona Kennedy (1st F50) 31m 59s from Ealing, Slough & Middlesex AC.

The first Milton Keynes member back was 14th placed Richard Ashton (1st M45) in 27m 30s followed by 25th Adam Atkins 28m 34s, 26th Daniel Webber 28m 43s, 27th Ross Mackenzie 28m 56s, 35th Mark Dowson 29m 58s, 39th Martin Erasmus (M45)30m 33s, 40th Chris Nicholson 30m 39s, 41st Ed Dunn 30m 40s, 44th Robin Dowswell (M45) 30m 52s, 49th Gary Blaber 31m 13s, 53rd Ian Pheasey 31m 27s and the rest.

>> The previous Saturday saw 486 pupils from 41 primary schools in Milton Keynes gathered at Stantonbury School for the annual District Cross Country Championships.

All the children had taken part in the heats two weeks earlier to qualify, where a total of 772 pupils from 43 schools had taken part. The conditions were relatively dry, but still challenging as the competitors had to work hard to complete the course.

There were four races for junior girls, junior boys, senior girls and senior boys in which pupils compete both as individuals and as teams of up to six runners.

The finishing position of the first four runners in each team are added together, so that the lowest total wins. The schools are organised into three categories based on their number on roll in Key Stage Two.

The scores of all four teams from a school were added together to find the school with the lowest total in each category. A trophy is also awarded to the school scoring the lowest total overall.

In the junior girls category, the runners completed a 1000m circuit of Stantonbury School fields. The first three individuals to finish were K. Mallaghan (Emerson Valley), H. Piggott (Middleton) and C. Maycock (Portfields).

In the team competition, where the first four team members positions are added together, Portfields came 1st with 32 points, followed by Two Mile Ash in 2nd (34 points) and Olney in 3rd (111 points).

The junior boys completed one and a half circuits (1500m) of the course. In 1st place was M. Amaeshike (St Mary Magdalene), followed by C. Broughton and J. Williamson (both Portfields).

In the team competition, it was much closer with Portfields in 1st (33 points), followed by Two Mile Ash in 2nd (50 points) and Loughton in 3rd (66 points).

The senior girls completed the same circuit as the junior boys and the first three runners in were H. Jamieson (Wavendon Gate), J. Nuttall and I. Griffiths (both Two Mile Ash).

This time Two Mile Ash came 1st in the team competition with 34 points, followed by Portfields in 2nd (51 points) and Olney in 3rd (106 points).

The runners in the senior boys complete two circuits (2000m) of the course. In a nail-biting race, O. Megeary from Olney was 1st, with L. Delaney (Loughton) 2nd and M. Gilhespy (Olney) in 3rd.

The team competition was extremely close with Portfields first (22 points), Olney 2nd (40 points) and a draw between Two Mile Ash and St Mary Magdalene in 3rd place with 54 points each.

The Schools’ trophies were won by Hanslope (Small Schools), Southwood (Medium Schools) and Portfields (Large Schools). Portfields also won the Overall School Trophy with a total of 138 points, with Two Mile Ash (172 points) in 2nd and Olney (359 points) in 3rd place.