Rutherford scoops MK athletics award

editorial image

MARSHALL Milton Keynes staged their annual awards evening last week with guest of honour Mervyn Luckwell – the UK’s current number one javelin thrower who recently reached the qualifying standard for the London Olympics.

The top ‘Athlete of the Year’ award perhaps unsurprisingly went to long jumper Greg Rutherford for an excellent season that saw him qualify for the World Championships, while two lesser known but hard working members, David Millettn and Di Baldwin, won the Clubperson of the Year and Sportsperson of the Year awards respectively.

The Winter Trophies went to Tom Comerford and Tanya Taylor while the Summer Trophies went to Chris Clarke and Kadi-Ann Thomas, with the Indoor Trophies to Devon Byrne and Ivars Licietis, and the top Road Runners were named as Steve Herring and Wendy Webber with the Ultra title to Jacqui Maycock.