Success for Team MK youngsters in first Cyclo-Cross League meet of season

editorial image

A GROUP of Team MK youth riders made the trip to Hillingdon in north London for the first round of this year’s Central Cyclo-Cross League, and returned with some excellent results.

Riders were greeted with dry conditions which made for a rough ride around the mainly grass course, but some members of the Team MK squad managed to maintain the excellent form they showed throughout the competition last year.

In the U10s race, Alexander Russell led from the start to win, with Alex Wetherill taking the final podium position, and in the girls’ category Molli Keenor continued where she left off in 2011 with another victory.

Team MK were well represented in a quality field for the U12s race. Noah Tresham was the best placed city rider, finishing in 5th position, while Lewis Muncaster was narrowly edged into 7th.

Sam Skeggs – last year’s U12 series winner – was 8th, with Nicholas Day and Aimee Zygo finishing in 9th and 12th respectively.

As usual the U14/U16 race was a combined affair, unfortunately the results don’t indicate the category of each rider and therefore many of the finishing positions are unclear. However, Zinzan Heap, last year’s U16 series winner, led from the start to take the win, with his brother Jonti finishing in 5th place.

Lauran Murphy won the girls’ U14s category, while Jacob Tresham was the highest placed male Team MK U14 finisher in 15th – his position suggesting he was highly placed in his category. Marcus Burnett was 7th, Buauna Ball 9th, Olli Bates 10th, Tom Zygo 26th, Ben Wetherill 28 and Neil Zygo 31st.

In the adult race, a field of well over 100 riders started and Chris Smith was the highest placed Team MK member in 25th place. Martin Heaton was 60th, David Skeggs 74th, John Muncaster 97th and Claire Harrison 100th.

The next round of the Cyclo-Cross League takes place at the National Bowl in Milton Keynes this Saturday.