Team MK riders gear up for big Bowl race

editorial image

The city’s brightest young cycling stars will join hundreds of other budding riders for an action-packed afternoon of racing at the National Bowl on Saturday (June 8).

From U8s to U16s, Team MK riders will battle it out against some of the country’s hottest racing prospects on a course around the iconic music venue.

The National Youth Circuit action gets underway for the youngest competitors at 12.30pm, followed by boys and girls races throughout the afternoon, lasting from 15 minutes to an hour for the older cyclists.

Not only is a cash prize at stake for the top three finishers in each race category, but the honour of winning the prestigious event is what attracts such great numbers to Milton Keynes.

Ian Stannard began his racing career riding for Team MK around the Bowl, and went on to become National Road Race champion last year, before being selected for the British Olympic Road Race Team for London 2012.

He said: “This is where I grew up racing and learnt many of the skills that I still put to use today.

“It was my favourite venue and one of the most challenging in the country, with many different circuits available in one area.

“I hope everyone has a great day, races hard and enjoys the circuit.”

Racing around three laps of the course in the U8s race for Team MK will be Ruben Snelson, before Molli Keenor, Emily Moon, Joel Corbishley and Alexander Russell represent the club over five laps in the U10s race.

Anna Ustaran-Anderegg, Nic Day, Oliver Knight, Lewis Muncaster, Sam Skeggs, Skip Snelson, Noah Tresham and Max Wellstead race over seven laps in the U12s race, while the U14s girls category sees Team MK represented by Lauren Murphy and Erin Simpson for the 40 minute race.

Elliot Haigh, Jacob Tresham and Joshua Ustaran-Anderegg head off in the 45 minute U14s boys race, and over the same duration the U16s girls race sees Team MK’s Elizabeth Shirley take to the track.

And over 60 minutes of racing, Marcus Burnett, Jonti Heap, Zinzan Heap and Ryan Savage will be out for success in the U16s boys race.