Bronze medals for young cross country athletes

editorial image

MMKAC provided nearly half the field representing Buckinghamshire at the South of England Inter-Counties Cross-Country Championships.

Best placed were the under 17 men who took the bronze medals in this age group. Alfie Yabsley (16th) and Conrad Webber (23rd) were integral members of the scoring team who ran a 5km course. Ewan Forsythe placed 56th.

Both under 15 teams raced over 4km and finished in 9th place. Jack Meijer continued his excellent run of form with the best individual placing on the day, 11th for the boys. Robert Hickman (61st) was the 3rd scorer with Aaron Wooton (69th), James Dowsett (70th) and Finlay Gibbs (71st) backing up the team.

The girls race produced a really fine run by Montana Edghill(44th) just ahead of Enya Deysel(52nd) and Holly Jamieson(58th) who completed the scoring team, Jessica Nuttall took 80th position.

Emma Mears (26th) led home the Bucks under 17 women who ran 5km and finished 6th in the team race. Charlotte Moyse was just outside the scoring four, 69th overall.

The under 13 boys raced 3km and also finished 6th, Jack Sharp (49th) was the 4th scorer here with Alex Brent, a last-minute call up, 75th.

For the under 13 girls who ran the same distance, Barbara de Koning led home (32nd) the Bucks team that closed in 9th. Charlotte Underwood was 4th scorer (50th) whilst Imogen King (63rd) and Chloe Munroe 86th completed the County squad.

A senior ladies race is also included at this event and they raced a two lap course covering 6km. Nadine Lewycky (25th) and Gemma Childs (51st) were 2nd and 4th scorers for the Bucks team that closed in 9th position.

The MK Winter Half-Marathon attracted a field of over 1500 competitors and MMKAC’s Mark Ryall took third place with seasons’ best time of 72.54. His wife, Linsey, was 6th lady (60th overall) and ran a personal best of 87.26 just ahead of Ian Wood (77th), 88.26 and Matt Child (83rd) with 89.37, all in the top 100.

Neil Jones clocked 90.43, Suzanne Anderegg 104.50, Jason Carvalho 106.58, Jade Leggett 110.05, Julie Jones 114.19 and Dushen Naidoo 122.52.