Carr starts the medal race

editorial image

Ebony Carr took a bronze medal in the England u15/17 Championships.

Competing in the u17 100m she won her heat in 12.17, placed 2nd in her semi-final(12.08) and then clocked 12.09 in the final.

Rachel Oderinde made it through to the semi-final where she placed 8th(12.65). Casey Hodges finished 5th in heat of the 200m(26.20).

For the u15 boys David Boakye took 4th in his heat of the 100m(11.81).

There was a superb 4th place for Jamil Hassan in the U17 triple jump. Here he jumped a PB of 14.13m which moved him up to no 2 in the club all-time age group rankings.

Lauren Presswell threw the U17 hammer 49.97m for 9th position, just 18cm off her PB and Paige Barnes placed 18th(42.50m)

Rachel Gibbens added 5cm to her club pole vault record . Competing in the London Inter-club challenge at Hendon, Rachel won the event with a leap of 4.05m improving her record of 4.00m set at Loughborough in 2000.

She moves up to no 7 in the 2015 UK rankings.

At the same meeting there was some fine hammer performances by the leading MMKAC female throwers. Kayleigh Presswell won on the day throwing the 4kg implement 53m26 whilst Laeken Impey placed 2nd with 49.11m, both close to their season’s bests.

Lauren Presswell and Paige Barnes competed again in the u17 hammer throwing the 3kg hammer 47.71m and 45.97m respectively.

The club hill race championships were held in Brickhill Woods around a 2.5miles course and saw a convincing win by Gary Blaber in 18.10, some 30-seconds ahead of 2nd placing Tom Inchley , Mark Palser placed 3rd and Dan Webber 4th.

Sophie Gibbens(23.45) won the ladies title ahead of Wendy Webber(24.32) with Di Farner 3rd.

A number of fast 1500m times have recently been recorded by MK runners.

Liam Smith broke the 4minute barrier recording 3.58.73 with Sam Winters finishing in 4.01.38, both personal bests.

At the same meeting Corinne Nurse ran to the third fastest time by a local F35 lady with 5.06.66.

Ryan Burling then ran the 1500m in 4.01.82 (just off his PB from 2014) at Solihull in a British Milers Club meet.