Milton Keynes’ sporting stars celebrated in style

Olympians Greg Rutherford and Andrew Baggaley were among the winners at Tuesday’s Sport MK awards.

The ceremony, held at Shenley Leisure Centre, saw the sporting heroes of Milton Keynes celebrated.

MK Rowing Club picked up Club of the Year, while the undefeated Bletchley Ladies rugby team picked up the coveted Team of the Year gong.

And having completed the grand slam earlier this year, Rutherford was named Sports Personality of the Year.


Boys Under 18 Award Ed Knaggs (MK Junior Ice Hockey Club)

Girls Under 18 Award – Laura Zialor (MMKAC)

Men Over 18 Award – Andrew Baggaley (Greenleys Table Tennis Club)

Women Over 18 Award – Donna Brookes (Wolverton Bowls Club)

Masters Award for Men - Scott Herbert (MMKAC)

Masters Award for Women - Karen Wilson and Paula Heywood (MK Rowing Club)

Disabled Men Award – Simon Green (Kingston Table Tennis Club)

Disabled Women and Girls – Isobel Wilcox (MMKAC)

Special School Award – Redway School

Primary School Award – Giles Brook

Secondary School Award – Denbigh School

Coach of the Year – Andrew Linton (MK Storm)

Team of the Year – Bletchley Ladies Rugby Club

Service to Sport Award – Mick Brown (Olney Town FC)

Club of the Year – MK Rowing Club

Volunteer of the Year - Louise Rivett (MK Rowing Club)

MK Community Foundation Margaret Powell bursary - Josh Sprule

MK Community Foundation Sport bursary - Joe Turney

Sports Personality - Greg Rutherford