MK plays host to the Relay championships

editorial image

MMKAC hosted the prestigious South of England Road 12-stage Relay Championships for the 17th consecutive year.

Fifty teams started the men’s race with the first athlete running 7.6km, the second 5.1km and continued to alternate until 12 stages(76km) had been completed.

Up front there were new winners this year as north London club, Shaftesbury Barnet took the lead just prior to half-way and won in a time of 4hrs05.27. MMKAC initially started with two teams with the hope that the “A” team could possibly match the club’s best-ever 12th set last year.

This became a tall order with individual changes and they had to settle for 18th but still qualifying for the National Championships being held later in April.

Michale Glowacki led them off on the first long leg and handed over 23rd(26.04) for the 7.6km. Sam Winters ran the first of the short legs(5.1km) and moved up 4 places to 19th with 16.50. Gary Blaber then clocked 28.13, Ross Threfall 17.23 and Marcin Fudalej 26.43.

Ryan Burling brought the team to 20th place at the halfway, having run the fastest short leg of the day for MK with 16.27. Steve Tuttle then ran their fastest long leg recording 25.58 keeping his team 20th. Liam Smith ran 17.20, Steve Herring 30.11 and Graham Jones clocked 17.18 to keep the team 20th.

On the final two legs, Mark Palser gained one place on the penultimate leg(27.00) and finally Tom Comerford, on the anchor leg came home 18th(17.05) and a total time of 4:26.32.

The ladies race comprised six laps of the short 5.1km lap. Fourty-five teams set off and hot favourites and defending champions Aldershot won comfortably.

The MMKAC ladies finished 12th last year but an under-strength team had to settle for 26th on this occasion.

Lara Bromilow, as usual, started for the local ladies and completed her lap in 19.17 and in 18th position. Sophie Gibbens clocked 22.10, and Gemma Childs 20.16 which saw them 26th at half-way. Martina Ferreira then ran 21.41, Kerry Adams 22.20 and finally Mel Wright 23.13 on the anchor leg and 26th overall in 2:09.29.

Unfortunately late changes denuded both male and female “B” teams. The men could only run seven legs – Sam Deathe(29.45), Chris Dunn(18.41), Ian Pheasey(32.44), Eliot Winter(19.35), James Tuttle(30.20),Jack Comerford(19.36) and Harry Morton(31.02), 43rd overall at that time.

The ladies mustered four athletes with Leah Hartwell(23.13), Katie James(23.14),Steph Johnson(26.59) and Alana Slater, the quickest, running 22.36 and 39th overall at that time.