National championship joy for MMKAC athletes


Nearly 50 MMKAC athletes were in action in Mansfield in the annual English Cross-Country Championships.

The 49 athletes made up 16 teams who competed across all ages with varying distances. The best performances at this prestigious event came from the female teams.

Liam Smith

Liam Smith

Pride of place to the U13 girls team(2km per leg) where the trio of Barbara de Koning, Charlotte Underwood and Imogen King placed 13th from a field of over 70 teams.

The under 17girls ran 2.5km each and saw Emma Mears, Sophie Botham and Charlotte Moyse finish 17th from over 50 starters.

The senior women raced over 3km each and finished 21st from a field of well over 100. Lara Bromilow placed 26th (10.22) on leg 1, Elle Roche(11.03) moved up five to 21st on leg 2 and then Nadine Lewycky(11.21) retained this position on the anchor leg.

Their B team of Martinha Ferreira, Natasha Baker and Gemma Childs finished 49th, just inside the top half.

Finally the under 15 girls A team of Enya Deysel, Montana Edghill and Gemma Milne were 44th and their B team of Libby Herdman-Smith. Charlotte Cooke and Rosie Merrin closed in 78th.

Some 200 teams had entered the senior men’s race where teams of 4 each ran a 5km leg. Liam Smith opened for MMKAC and ran 16.35 form 54th place.

Steve Tuttle(16.35) dropped 4 places before Chris Hearn(17.13) clawed back 11 and then anchor man Sam Winters ran 17.10 and gained two more for a final position of 42nd.

Their B team of Jeremy Vick, Graham Jones, Ross Threlfall and Chris Finister closed in 83rd.

The under 15 boys A team (Jack Meijer, Robert Hickman and James Dowsett) each ran 2km and placed 37th from over 80 teams.

Their B team (Aaron Wooton, Tom Sharp and Harry Ewing) were just 11 seconds in arrears for 40th.

And for good measure their C team of Tom Ewing, Peter Hickman and Marcus Lovell finished 62.

An U20 mens team were in action and they ran a 3km loop. Charles Wheeler(9.39), George Wheeler (9.51)& Archie Rippin(10.09) came 40th.

The under 13 boys had two teams , each individual running 2km. The A team of Jack Sharp, Aidan Murphy and Alex Brent finished 52nd and the B team of Ben Green, Leo Freeland and Zak Freeland were 64th.