Orange is the new gold at the cross country championships

MMKAC's winning women's team
MMKAC's winning women's team

Athletes from Milton Keynes dominated the Bucks/Beds Cross country Championships over the weekend.

The senior men raced over 11km and Steve Tuttle comfortably retained the Buckinghamshire title.

There was a good battle between Chris Hearn and Liam Smith for the minor medals, Chris led early on before Liam came through to take silver just 3-seconds ahead of his club-mate who had to settle for bronze.

MMKAC dominated the team race with their scoring six in the first ten finishers. After the 1-2-3, Graham Jones placed 7th, Steve Green 9th and Jonathan Peters 10th and reversed a defeat by Chiltern Harriers last year.

The ladies raced over 8km but the MMKAC team could not prevent Mel Wilkins(Belgrave Harriers) from retaining her individual title. What the MMKAC ladies did was to provide the next four finishers – Nadine Lewycky ran an excellent race to take silver with Lara Bromilow settling for bronze.

Their third and team winning scorer was Alice Ritchie. Alice has been more well known as a sprinter/hurdler but since taking up cross-country at Nottingham University proved herself with 4th place overall and a member of the winning team. Gemma Childs placed 5th and Natasha Baker 8th to give the ladies five in the top ten. Debra Brent placed third F45 and Diane Farmer third F55.

Emma Mears led throughout the under17 women’s race over 6km to win by some 33-seconds. Charlotte Moyse placed 8th and Jade Brown 13th which saw MMKAC finished second in the team race to Chiltern Harriers. Jodie Wright finished 15th and Natalie Nurse 17th.

The under 17men reversed the team awards with a victory around their 6km course led home by Alfie Yabsley and Conrad Webber taking the silver and bronze medals. And with great backing-up by Ewan Forsythe(5th) and a strong finish by James Minter(9th) team gold over Chiltern Harriers was assured. Their squad was completed by Jake Cox(16th) and Morgan Smith(17th).

In the under 15 boys race(4km) Jack Meijer was just 4-seconds off individual gold but led the team to an outright victory. Tom Sharp finished 6th, Aaron Wooton 8th and James Dowsett 10th to complete the winning team. There was a strong local representation in this age group with a further nine finishers –

Robert Hickman(12th), Finlay Gibbs(15th), Marcus Lovell(16th), Peter Hickman(18th), Brian Sayle(21st), Archie Yabsley(22nd), Jack Terrey(25th), Charley Madgrin(26th) & Tim McElligott(27th).

It was deja-vu for the under 15 girls. An individual silver and gold in the team race. Enya Deysel was the silver medallist and led Montana Edghill(5th) and Gemma Milne(6th) to team gold.

Close on their heels were Holly Jamieson(8th) and Jessica Nuttall(9th). Their squad was completed by Libby Herdman-Smith(14th), Anna Ustaran-Anderegg(18th), Charlotte Cooke(20th) and Rosie Merrin(22nd).

There was a very close finish in the under13 girls(3km) team race. MMKAC, in spite of high placings by Barbara de Koning(4th), Charlotte Underwood(5th) & Imogen King, still only finished third as Wycombe Phoenix took this one. Barbara was always in the shout for an individual medal but lost out for the bronze by just 3-seconds.

There was a very enthusiastic bunch of MMKAC youngsters in this race as Chloe Munro placed 16th, Nicole Whittle 17th, Ella Carey 18th, Ella Nash 21st. Nikita Kay 22nd, Jodie Brogden 23rd, Lily Mae-Smith 24th, and Phoebe Miller 26th.

The under13 boys won the silver medals in their race led by Jack Sharp(5th), Leo Freeland(9th) & Alex Brent(12th). Good back-up from Aidan Murphy(14th), Ben Green(16th) & Sebastian Henry(17th).