Rutherford wins top gong

editorial image

Greg Rutherford was named Marshall Milton Keynes Athletic Club Athlete of the Year at the weekend after completing the grand slam in August.

Rutherford’s World Championship victory in Beijing completed the sweep of Olympics, European, Commonwealth and World Championship gold medals.

Rutherford then presented the awards to the recipients, who covered a wide range of age ages, 11-year-olds to 60+ men and women.

There were awards to athletes across a wide range of disciplines – track and field, road, cross-country, indoor events and then coaches and administrators.

Leading winners were: Sportsperson of the year-Carly Scott; Club Person of the year-Karen Trapnell; Performance Coach–Jack Kee; Development Coach-David Millett; Official of the year-Diane Baldwin.

Amongst the many female winners were Lara Bromilow (Women’s Winter), Rachel Gibbens(Women’s Summer), Nadine Lewycky(Road Runner), Elle Roche(Chiltern League), Kerry Adams(Veteran’s Winter), Joey Duck(Indoor Trophy), Laura Zialor(Field Event Trophy) and Ebony Carr(Track Trophy). Tia Morris won the most improved female trophy.

Male winners included Steve Tuttle (Swain Winter),Jackson Curtis (Swain Summer),Jamil Hassan (Rayner Trophy), Dan Webber (Road runner), Steve Herring (Veteran’s Winter),Aaron Adom (Track Trophy), Freddie Curtis (Field Event Trophy), Chris Hearn (Chiltern League) and Chuko Cribb (Indoor Trophy). Robert Lewis won the most improved male trophy.