Three school records fall

editorial image

Three Marshall Milton Keynes Athletic Club competitors set new championship bests at the Bucks Schools Championships, held at Stantonbury on Saturday.

Laura Zialor broke the record for Intermediate Girls triple jump, leaping 10.93m, Davina Oduguwa Intermediate Gir’s shot 10.89m and Paige Barnes in the Junior Girl’s hammer.

A further six members achieved the ESAA Qualifying Standard: Jonathan Pownall Intermediate Boy’s javelin 59.01m, Ebony Carr Intermediate Girl’s 200m 26.0s, Laura Zialor Intermediate Girl’s high jump 1.65m, Jordan Heron Junior Girl’s 200m 26.2s, Sade Ross Junior Girl’s shot 10.91m and Lauren Presswell 46.52m and Laura Cumino 40.53m in the Intermediate Girl’s hammer.

Competing at an international meeting in Geneva Joey Duck won the 100m B Final in 11.61s and was 7th in the 200m A Final recording 23.55s.

At Crystal Palace in the South of England Championships there was a great Silver medal and a Club Record of 52.63m in the hammer for F20 Kayleigh Presswell with bronze for FS Emma Beardmore throwing (with 44.58m).

At the same meeting in the 1500m Lara Bromilow was 8thwith a time of 4m 55.55s and was also 10th in the 3000m taking 10m 19.55s in the F20 100m final Elysia Marriott was 5th crossing the line in 12.52s and was 6th in the 200m heats 26.40s.

After qualifying for the M20 200m final with a win in his heat in 21.70s Ryan Walker had to withdraw with a pulled hamstring.

Toby Spencer (Coventry Godiva) and Rachel Cave (Higham Harriers) won at the Banbury 5 (mile) race in the latest of the East Midlands Grand Prix series.

Leading the way home for the Marshall Milton Keynes Athletic Club contingent was 10th placed Jonathan Peters finishing in 27m 18s with 13th Mark Palser 28m 15s, 30th Jeremy Vick 29m 27s, 55thAndrew Wasdell (M40) 30m 40s, 67th John Skelton (1st M60) 31m 19s, 87th Ian Pheasey 31m 59s, 134th Mike Burling (M55) 33m 41s, 145th Robby Taylor 34m 12s, 179th Richard Scrase (M40) 35m 18s, 185th Kevin Church (M50) 35m 30s, 242nd John Wilkinson (M55) 37m 52s, 322nd Peter Tye (M40) 42m 12s, 326thMalcolm Kidby (M45) 42m 29s and 372nd Hazel Cockerill (F50) 46m 35s.