Country’s top badminton stars snapped up at auction


The atmosphere was tense at stadium:mk for the first player auction for the National Badminton League.

More than £100,000 was spent by the six newly formed teams - including MK Badminton - on 22 players, including Commonwealth Games silver medallist Rajiv Ouseph, Chris and Gabby Adcock.

After climbing into the top 20 in the world, Peter Mills was snapped up by MK Badminton, as were Paul van Rietvelde and Sophie Brown.

BADMINTON England’s ambassador for the NBL, Nathan Robertson, Olympic Silver medallist and former World Champion, added: “It’s great that the teams are now assembling their sides for the NBL before it begins in October.

“The new league will be faster than ever and open up the sport to new audiences with exciting matches in a thrilling new format.”

The teams will play each other on monthly matchnights to be broadcast live on Sky Sports and streamed around the world from in October.

There will then be one-day play-off final featuring the top four teams in June, 2015.

Teams so far:

MK Badminton – Paul Van Rietvelde, Sophie Brown, Peter Mills

Birmingham Lions –Heather Olver, Alyssa Lim, Sarah Walker

Team Derby – Andy Ellis, Rajiv Ouseph, Kate Robertshaw, Chris Coles

Loughborough Sport – Harley Towler, Peter Briggs, Lauren Smith, Marcus Ellis

University of Nottingham Badminton – Kieran Merrilees, Chris Adcock, Panuga Riou

Surrey Smashers – Gabby Adcock, Chris Langridge, Matthew Nottingham, Tom Wolfenden, Emily Westwood