MK complete their NBL line-up


MK Badminton have blended youth and experience in for the brand new National Badminton League.

After the opening round of auctions, MK Badminton recruited Peter Mills, Paul van Rietvelde and Sophie Brown as their opening picks.

They have since filled their ranks with Elizabeth Cann, Sam Parsons, Jess Ough, Alex Lane, Sophie Sankey, Ben Lane and Sean Vendy, completing their 10-strong line-up.

The inaugural competition, which will be shown live on Sky Sports, gets underway in October, and recently unveiled their new rules.

The NBL’s confirmed scoring system will see matches being played in a ‘first to nine points’ format to reward attacking gameplay, making games even more thrilling to watch in a ‘best of five’ event.

In a tie-break at 2-2 in games, the final game will be decided on either the first to five points or the first player to achieve a clear three point lead.

There are also a number of dynamic new scoring features to make NBL matches even more exciting, including a ‘PowerPlay’ point, shorter breaks between games, and in-play substitutions.

Nathan Robertson, Olympic Silver medallist and Badminton England’s ambassador for the NBL, said: “It’s excellent news that the new scoring system and squads for the NBL have been confirmed.

“The new rules really will make games faster than ever and more thrilling for viewers, and as a result the matches will be much more finely balanced.”

MK Badminton’s opening fixture is on October 6, and will see them play host to Surrey Smashers.