MMKAC increase their lead in the Cross Country League

For the third match of the Chiltern Cross-country League series Marshall Milton Keynes AC again had over 100 members competing (108 on the occasion).

Wednesday, 7th December 2016, 12:05 pm
Updated Wednesday, 14th December 2016, 1:44 pm

The courses were based around Stopsley Common, Luton. A third consecutive team win over Bedford and Windsor saw them increase their overall lead over Bedford by 914pts with two matches remaining.

The senior men raced over 9.2km and put their scoring ten in the first 52 finishers from the field of 242. Graham Jones (15th) just held off Tom Comerford to lead the winning team home. Oxford placed second and St Albans third. George Wheeler placed 22nd, Jamie Seddon 26th. Charles Wheeler 30th, Liam Smith 34th Chris Hearn 36th, Michael Greener 47th, James Tuttle 49th and Steve Herring 52nd. Individually George Wheeler placed 5th M20, Steve Herring 7th M40, as did Paul Mason 7th in the M60 category.

Alfie Yabsley stormed to another M17 victory around a course of 5.4km with a fine run from Jack Meijer to place 2nd, just one second behind his team mate. With Ewan Forsythe 6th and Marcus Lovell 16th they just headed Windsor in the team race.

Another team victory came with the under 15 boys who raced 4.1km and had their scoring quartet in the first 10. James Dowsett finished second again with Brian Sayle third, Robert Hickman 6th and Finlay Gibbs 8th. Bedford placed 2nd and Dacorum 3rd in the team event.

For the under 13’s, Jack Rose who had placed 36th and 11th in the previous races ran to an outstanding 4th in their 3.1km course. Aidan Murphy closed in 9th, Sebastian Henry 14th and Harry Rose 23rd but were beaten by Chiltern and Bedford in the team race.

There were ten MMKAC ladies from a field of 141 competing in the 5.4km race but were a missing a number of their better runners at the sharp end. Lara Bromilow, after two previous fourth places, improved to third at Luton with their scoring six comprising Rachel Robinson (14th), Natasha Baker(16th), Katie James (43rd), Fran Malin (52nd) and Suzanne Anderegg (69th).

Emma Mears who won the two previous F17/20 races was unfortunately injured leaving Holly Jamieson to come through strongly around the 4.5km lap to lead the team home in 11th position chased by Sophie Botham (18th), Jessica Nuttall (20th) and Jade Brown (30th).

Barbara De Koning again produced a top ten placing for the under 15girls, 7th here and with Ella Carey 11th, Imogen King 12th and Gemma Milne 18th they placed second to Windsor in the team race. However they continue to lead the overall team race after the three matches ahead of Bedford. On the day Tia Sinclair-Linton (19th) had her best race of the series and just outside of the scoring foursome. They raced over 4.1km.

The under 13’s just headed Windsor in the team race, Charlotte Underwood(6th) and Jodie Brogden(9th) in the top ten, followed by Chloe Munro (11th) and Lily Mae-Smith (12th). They raced over 2.5km.

They are non-scoring race for under 11’s and in the girls 2.2km race Sonja De Koning produced her third consecutive victory. Annabel Saunders had her best run this season, 4th with Jessica Kempton 16th and Hannah Smith 24th. Millie Freeland closed in 27th and Izzy Miller 47th. There was just two boys in this category with Sam Oldroyd 21st and Max Holland 58th.